Free Postage*
Fast Delivery*
Unbeatable Prices
Interest Free Finance Available*

TESTIMONIALS

Brilliant overlocker, easy to thread and very smooth, would recommend

Catherine Sheppard (Birmingham)
14th September 2020
This machine was recommended to me by my sewing Tutor, it has not disappointed. Just love it. 5 star
Mrs Beryl Bourne (Preston)
04th September 2020

I’m new to overlocking but am an experienced regular machine sewer. Only just got it out of the box. A good DVD with a UK voice explaining how to thread which is invaluable. However the written instructions are basic and assume a good knowledge of what you’re doing. I’m having to rely on YouTube. Another DVD with basics, hints and tips would be invaluable please, particularly as this is a starter overlocker for “virgins” like me!

Mrs Sandra Sheppard (Blythe Bridge, Stoke-on-trent)
07th August 2020

I have had a brother Overlocker before which was why I went for this one. I was not disappointed it’s an excellent machine if a trifle noisy. The service from GUR was second to none, I was kept up to speed all the way through my transaction. Thank you GUR, this was the first time I have bought from you but it won’t be the last.

Mr John Keith Brain (Weaverham, Northwich)
05th August 2020

Very happy so far with my new overlocker. It works like a dream and is easy to rethread. I haven't tried all the additional feet yet but so far my experience has been great. Excellent customer service from GUR

Mrs Lisa Raison Trehy (Southampton)
29th July 2020

My Jaguar 489 Overlocker was delivered the day after I ordered it. I love the overlocker. It is easy to thread and sew with. This is my first overlocker and I can honestly say I am very pleased with my purchase from GUR.

Jan Britton (Portsmouth)
14th July 2020

It’s a great machine and very easy to thread and use. The only thing which is a minor nuisance is that the waste catcher is easily knocked off. Otherwise it is fantastic.

Mr Roger Nicholls (Wellington)
07th July 2020
Very easy to use
Mrs Debby Palmer (Holbeach)
26th June 2020

Love, love, love this machine. Bought primarily to cope with sewing scrubs for FTLOS North Lincs. Was scared to use (look back and shake head at myself). Once I overcame my silly self, got into it . Easy to use, lovely finish on seams, easy to thread as long as you take your time and follow instructions on DVD. One small issue was that the little connector for the lint tray snapped soon after purchase, but not a big problem. Still worthy of 5 stars.

Ms Carol Oliver ()
26th June 2020

I couldn't believe this company! I ordered online on Fri and it arrived on Saturday! DURING LOCKDOWN! Fantastic service. The machine is excellent with good instructions. I was most surprised that I didn't need to change the needle between woven an stretch fabric. That's never happened before. I did need to alter the tension though. I am absolutely delighted with both GUR and my machine but avoid the offer of finance. That company is useless.

Anne Warricker (Swadlincote)
25th June 2020

I am in love ❤️ This machine is easy to thread, easy to understand and a pleasure to sew with. This Jaguar has re-awakened an urge to create!!!

Sandra Walker (Birmingham)
23rd June 2020
Love this machine , came very quickly and well packaged . I was going to buy a cheaper model . I am really pleased that I choose this model after watching a utube video showing how to thread it .
Val Khan (Middlesbrough)
21st June 2020
Beautiful study machine, I wished I had bought one years ago. I was a little apprehensive at first when I had to thread it but took my time and it wasn't difficult, particularly as the front of the machine fully opens. Instructions are easy to read and I'm working my way through an array of fabrics and trying it out. It has made life so much easier to finish seams on soft furnishings and clothes. I bought this on a recommendation and my only niggle is the flimsy catch which holds the thread catcher tray to the machine, which has broken, but not a problem. However, I LOVE IT and use it at every opportunity, a good buy for the price.
Mrs Elaine Simpson (Settle)
20th June 2020

I have been using this machine for about a month now. I have been extremely happy with it so far! I have sewn all different types of fabric and had absolutely no issues! It’s super easy to thread. The access to remove lint & loose cuttings is superb. I would absolutely recommend this machine.

H E Canter (St Ives)
18th June 2020

I purchased my overlocker from GUR following a recommendation from a friend and I couldn't be happier. I had an issue paying through the website so rang them and they sorted it really quickly. The man was so helpful and friendly. It was delivered the very next day. The machine is awesome. And the icing was when I googled how to rethread the machine I got a YouTube video from GUR that was perfect. Definitely recommend this company.

Ann White ()
17th June 2020

I love this Jaguar overlocker it’s very easy to operate and simple to re-thread with both fronts of the machine opening it makes it an easy job. It has a solid casing and has a relatively quiet motor. In the short time that I have owned it, it has been in constant use having made 300 masks and 100 cushion covers in lockdown and it has taken it all in its stride. I also have a Brother overlocker but much prefer the Jaguar. It was well worth the extra cost.

Stephanie Watt (Hucknall)
13th June 2020

Only used it once but it worked perfectly and the instruction disc was very useful. Looks easy to thread as well.

Jenny Westwood (New Malden)
12th June 2020

I ordered this machine and was really surprised when it arrived the next day. I have used it quite a bit and i'm really pleased with it. I did have a problem when one of the threads had broken and after about 30 minutes I looked again at the manual and low and behold the answer was there. Once I found the sliding lever I managed to insert the thread through the machine. Great tutorial on a dvd. which I watched with interest as I've never had an overlocking machine before. Great service, thank you.

Mrs Gillian Copley (Havering-atte-bower, Romford)
10th June 2020

Bought as a gift for my sister and she was delighted! She got it up and running quickly. Very fast delivery from GUR as well.

Miss Alicia Harris (Henfield)
07th June 2020

I purchased this overlocker as it was highly recommended on various websites and seemed pretty easy simple to use. I have never used an overlocker before and found it a bit daunting to start with. I would have preferred to have the machine arrive ready threaded with spools but there was only enough thread to show how it threads. So my first difficult task was to thread the machine, which I was able to do with the YouTube video. After that it's been plain sailing and I hope that I get many hours of happy sewing. I haven't tried the other feet yet so can't review them.

Mrs Jean Dawson (West End, Woking)
05th June 2020

This seems as if it is going to be great . Like most first time owners it’s going to take a while to get the results I long for. So far I’ve threaded it incorrectly (3 times) and then learnt the correct method. Tried and failed to overlook and trim - too wide , too loose then a number of successful seams. I’m now beginning to get consistent results and it looks like we’re going to be very happy together .!!

Mrs Sandie Young (York)
05th June 2020

I have always been put off (scared) of overlocking machines because of the threading process plus not being skilled at sewing either. But after researching them recently I decided to take the plunge watching a GUR video on Youtube showing how to thread this machine and it was very simple, nothing like I'd been imagining! The price was the best and GUR also had a 12 months interest free option which is always a welcome plus even if you only take advantage until payday. This machine has helped to keep me sane during lockdown by making lots of small projects to amuse myself.

Mrs Paula Cashin ()
04th June 2020

I wouldnt recommend this machine. It may be easy to thread but the tension is shocking. I tested the scrap that came with machine.. fine. Then changed material tension on stitches was awful..finally get tension sorted machine starts to shudder.. thread breaks.. tension goes wonky again.. i fix it..anytime you stop using machine then go back to it a different day it starts all over again.. All while intermittently shuddering every so often like it gonna blow. Worst decision i ever made was buying this. And ive made some bad decisions in life!

 

GUR REPLY:

Amanda, you welcome to return the Jaguar 489 within the next 14 days and we will refund in full.

We would love to check this Jaguar 489 out to see what the issues are, this is is the first time someone on having a new jaguar has encountered so many problems.

Sorry for the distress it must have caused you.

Amanda Mckellar (Glasgow?)
03rd June 2020

Great machine easy to get started, learnt how to thread it myself very quickly, I did go online for more help with getting the stitching tension sorted. Got the hang of it quickly and made a childs jersey dress.

Mrs Joanne Smith (Oldbury)
03rd June 2020

I was very wary about. buying an overlocker because of the threading and didn’t want to spend huge money on something that gathers dust. However, this was an excellent buy. Prompt delivery, excellent video, - brilliant. I’ve been able to retread it without any problem. Thank you for wonderful service

Anne Hawker (Warwick)
02nd June 2020

Very helpful staff and next day delivery too. Well pleased and easy to thread and use. Very good price , always buy my machines from GUR .

Lorraine Hardy ()
30th May 2020

Super fast, easy to thread, stitches evenly, I am extremely pleased with this overlocker. Highly recommended

Mrs Theresa Turnbull (Ringwood)
30th May 2020

Lovely overlocker, I found it very easy to get started with the white thread that was already threaded in the machine. I have since re threaded it my self and although I found one particular bit very fiddly, I have managed it several times since and now find threading very easy. A nice quite machine that doesn’t move when In use.

Margaret Haves (Huntingdon)
28th May 2020

This is the first overlocker I’ve bought, I am very pleased with it. I have had sewing machines all my life, but thought I’d treat myself to a new addition. It is very good and easy to use, the only thing I haven’t done yet is actually thread it , l just tie my new cotton and pull it through. I’m looking forward to all the new things I can do with this machine.

Mrs Patricia Kelly (Pencoed)
28th May 2020

Brilliant strong tough machine, a dream to thread. So versatile too, including so many extra feet, that I haven't had time to try out yet.

Lynette Patrick (Shropshire)
27th May 2020

My order arrived in good time and very well packed. I have now used my Overlocker machine a few times and am really enjoying it. This is my first overlocker machine and after viewing the dvd I have had no problems threading.

Helen Minhinnick ()
19th May 2020

I have only just started learning how to use this machine, and am very impressed with its performance. Threading it was not the nightmare I was expecting it to be. I can certainly recommend this machine to a first time use.

Cecielia Sinclair (Gateshead)
12th May 2020

Recommended for me by GUR, this is a wonderful beginners or re-starters machine, the threading could not be easier. It sews quickly and well. So easy to get that good finish with it. 10/10

Theresa Turnbull (Ringwood)
10th May 2020

Amazing little Over locker love it we have volunteered to make PPE for the NHS its been a god send wished we had purchased it sooner the customer service was fantastic 5 * would highly recommend & will use again thank you

Ms Christine Brennan ()
08th May 2020

Bought to replace my thirty year old Bernina Overlocker. Unable to go out and try makes and models. So decided to order online and go by reviews. Not disappointed the machine arrived within twenty four hours. Up and running the same day. Only a few differences from my old machine. I have even had occasion to rethread the lower looper which I did with the help of the DVD provided.

Miss Monica Bone (Waterlooville)
04th May 2020

This is a lovely sturdy machine . The front load thread is so much easier than my 30 year old Janome. Highly recommended. The bag is nice and sturdy .

Mrs Jane Cooke (Brackley)
21st April 2020
Came already threaded which was a bonus. Good instructions not had any problems. I am quite a newbie where overlockers are concerned but it looks quite easy to understand.
Sally Birkitt (Brigg)
30th March 2020

This is my first overlocker, so I have a lot to learn on how to use it. I even read the instructions, a first for me ! So far I have found the threading up process a bit of a challenge, fortunately, to make it easier, its colour coded. I am looking forward to getting to know more about overlocking with what seems a well designed machine, and the service from Gursewing is great.

Miss Helen Richardson (Ashbourne)
09th March 2020

I bought this on the recommendation of my sewing class tutor, and have used this model there. (Haven't unboxed mine yet, so review is based on product not on the seller). My sister also bought one which I've used (and re- threaded!) It was my first time using an overlocker so I was a bit apprehensive, but I was able to successfully complete making a pair of leggings in class! New machine comes pre-threaded 👍🏻 Easy to use Cuts as it sews - removing excess material, if needed. Guidebook included Amazing little machine! Re- threading - don't be put off!! (read on)... Stick with it! You'll be amazed how much you needed this machine 😀 Important: Guides to thread machine are numbered, and explained in handbook. However, there's a couple of things that are useful to know upfront: 1. Threading Upper right needle - no. '9': it's a slider you need slide by hand BEFORE you're able to access no. 10, to continue threading!). 2. Threading the lower needle has a tricky part too (after accessing the lower needle area). I read Guide instructions carefully, but they aren't that clear- so be sure to pass cotton through FROM FRONT TO BACK! (you'll know what I mean once you get to this part) Once you've got the hang of it all you'll remember it! OPTIONAL EXTRA Trim Trap' tray: This is an extra you can purchase, to catch the discarded threads/material as you sew (expensive for what it is but saves mess). 

Lisa Allan (Beckenham)
07th March 2020

Fabuolous machine, very happy. Support excellent. The finger fell off on 1st day (removable part) and had fabulous help to work out how to replace it, just as you were about to close. Very happy and thank you for your help and service. Free thread brilluant too

Mrs Catherine Pope (Ipswich)
03rd March 2020

Bought this overlocker after months of deliberating - I am a complete beginner as far as overlocking goes. A month in and I am delighted - still only using the basic overstitch and getting used to the tension and stitch length. It was a bit scary to start with but now whizz over my seams beautifully. The machine came ready threaded with cones, is sturdy and not too noisy. Looking forward to trying the gathering foot!!

Sue Keating (Buckinghamshire)
02nd March 2020

My jaguar 489 over locker and bag arrived the day after ordering and was immediately taken out of the box. All in good order, ready threaded and with no adjustment needed to start my first project. I have found the machine easy to thread and use. It stitches beautifully. All in all a very good buy.

Mrs L Hopkins ()
22nd February 2020

Very happy with my new purchase. This overlocker came highly recommended and so far it’s proved easy to use and looks like it will do everything I want it to.

Ms Sue Brown (Kirtlington)
11th February 2020

I have had this overlocker about a month now; I felt like I should not really buy it as I leeds he a manual thread overlocker but I kept running into problems threading and I could rarely trace back what I was doing wrong and so I wasted so much time messing about. I don’t regret getting this machine as it has taken away all that stress and I can get sewing so much quicker. I was very happy with the free threads that GUR also sent as an extra and these threads are excellent quality. In addition they also sent a carry bag and again I was very surprised and happy with the quality. The machine arrived quickly and no fuss. I recommend all aspects of the service§ice and the goods.

Julia Davies (Sheffield)
10th February 2020

I bought this overlocker as I wanted to get back to sewing again. It’s very easy to use, the colour-coded threading diagrams are fairly easy to follow. My previous overlocker was also a Janome- a MyLock 644- which was so easy to thread the lower looper. I just wish Janome had kept that configuration as the 9300XD is much more fiddly, hence only 4 stars. It’s still a good buy though.

Zarafet (Manchester)
10th February 2020

I am very happy with my new overlocker Jaguar 489. It arrived on time and I've got a great gift of thread and a bag for only £5. The machine works wonderful and it's easy to thread. A good video from GUR about Jaguar threading is on youtube. Recomend the overlocker and GUR.

Mrs Irina Grozavu (Rush Green, Romford)
09th February 2020

Wished for Christmas present, so far so good. Got it out to play and it works fine straight out of the box. The straight stitch and switch to rolled hem all good. Yet to try the free gathering foot or have to clean and oil ...plenty more to discover and looking forward to many hours of playing

Lucky Lowe (Rugby)
28th December 2019

Hi. I’ve already started using my overlocker and found that it makes life a lot easier for the air threading and also the needle threader attached to the side. I was a bit disappointed with the fact that there was no free arm but it’s easy enough to get around this problem of sewing in circles . It’s the best thing Janome has put onto the market. Love it. Would recommend it to people who struggle threading over lockers especially if they have poor eyes as I do. THANK YOU JANOME.

Carole Anne Groom (Dagenham)
27th December 2019

I have had chance to use this overlocker now and so far I am very pleased with the sturdy quality and the ease of threading , the machine is not too loud , as yet I have not gone into all functions of the machine just used basic overlocking stitch so far for which I am very happy.

Mrs Carol Mcgivern (Halifax)
20th December 2019

Brilliant well built and easy to thread. Buy one

Dorman Johanne ()
13th December 2019
Website Programming, CMS and SEO by Web Alliance Ltd.